top of page
Search
Writer's pictureboy onabike

Lots Of Racing

This month has been very busy with three British National Cross Country rounds in Cannock Chase, Woodies Bike Park and Tong as well as a Scottish Cross Country Series round at Chatelherault.


Starting in Cannock I first competed in the short track where I placed a strong second after getting away from the main group with u23 Corran Carrick-Anderson. Despite both having competed in the same races at every level, from the Glentress dirt crits to the Nove Mesto World Cup, this is the first time we have ever raced against each other at the head of a race. I got a great start managing to get the hole shot from the second row. After sitting in the front group for a couple of laps, Corran attacked, unfortunately due to a rider being between us he got a small gap however I managed to chase him down and we sat as a group for a few laps. He finally attacked and got away on the short climb on the second last lap, I kept chasing and managed to finish in second only losing a few meters. I was delighted with this result especially against these top U23 riders.


The Cross-Country race was the next day, the course was excellent being my favourite Cannock course I have ridden with shorter punchier climbs, including some technical ones, and the descents where also interesting with well-known technical features such as the rock garden being kept in. I got a decent start sitting in the lead group before Max Standen took the front and put the pace on. I just followed always sitting is second until the last half lap where a lapped rider got in the way a choke point which allowed him to get a small gap but he managed to grow it. In the end I finished second a little bit down on Max, although I was a little disappointed with the way the race ended, I was still delighted to finish second.


The fourth round of the British series was long drive to Woodies in Fowey, Cornwall. In the Short Track, I had another great start straight into second place behind U23 Max Greensill. He immediately set the pace high, and I did best to sit on for a couple of laps before settling into my own pace for the rest of the race, I managed the gaps both ahead and behind me to hold onto second. I was delighted to get another podium with a powerful U23 rider.

The Cross-Country race was next day, the course was hard with 250m of climbing per lap and fast flowy descents with difficult technical A-Lines. I got another great start sitting in second for the first half lap before taking the lead. Myself and Max Standen set the pace and managed to get away from the other riders. I focused on staying in front on the steeper first single track climb and being flowy and fast on the descents, conserving energy, then staying with Max for the longer also steep climb. A strong attack by Max near the end of the steeper climb on the last lap managed to break me and allow him to get away from me and in the end, I finished in an another second. Despite not being the win I would have loved, I was still pleased to have been able to stay with Max for so long on a course he is perfectly suited for.


After my free weekend I raced at Chatelherault for the fourth round of the Scottish Cross Country Series. The course was very short with many short, steep, punchy climbs, it was very tight and quite technical for almost the whole course. Starting from the third row behind the elite and expert riders, meant I got a poorer start, but I soon moved up into first place not long into the first single track. I set a hard pace, quickly getting a decent gap, I held my pace for a few laps keeping a consistent gap before I spent the last few laps working as hard as possible to escape a fast Lewis Martin who was starting to bring my gap down. I was pleased with my result and was delighted to take the win!


The final race this month was at Tong for the final round of the National Cross County Series. Coming into the short track I knew I had to finish top 3 out of the juniors in order to win the elite/junior series. The course was a grass crit for two thirds and the only techy feature being three wooden jumps. I was gridded second row and got a great start straight into second. Max Greensill led for a couple then Max Standen took over, I protected my position in second until the last lap kicked off with Max G and Thomas Mein powering through and I followed holding on for third. I was super pleased to get another national podium against strong elite riders as well as to secure the top spot in the overall series podium.

The full XC course was excellent being super technical and punchy. The course had many of the hard well known feature such as the Shibden Slabs, The Gully Drop and the Gap Jump. The course was mainly made up of shorter climbs and shorter technical descents which really suits my riding style. I was gridded front row however I didn't get a brilliant start, missing my pedal but I recovered well and got into the single track in third place. After a few wee bursts of power I managed to attack into first, as part of this I managed to get a small gap. I kept attacking out of corners and kept the power on and managed to get away. I kept working hard throughout the race and managed to grow my lead to over 2 minutes when I finished. I also caught up to the fourth placed elite rider Thomas Mein however did not quite managed to beat him. I was delighted to finally get a win in the national series this year.


This month has been a successful month of racing and I have been elated with my results. I can't wait for the upcoming month of racing with French Cup race in the Alps and the British Championships of the horizon.




27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page